Clerk's Office
(847) 671-8242


Village Clerk
April Arellano
Email April Arellano


Monday 8am - 4:30pm
Tuesday 8am - 4:30pm
Wednesday 8am - 4:30pm
Thursday 8am - 4:30pm
Friday 8am - 4:30pm
Saturday Closed

Boards and Commissions


The Village of Franklin Park has the following appointed boards and commissions to serve our residents and businesses.


Board of Local Improvements

The Board of Local Improvements shall be comprised of the members of the Board of Trustees and shall include the Village President who shall be the presiding officer. Said members shall serve without compensation. Upon the appointment and qualification of an individual as Village Engineer, the membership shall be comprised of the Village Engineer, the Superintendent of Streets and the Village President. (Ord. 8081 MC 1, § 1; Ord. 8283 MC 5, § 2; Ord. 8384 MC 12, § 1)

Barrett Pedersen - President & Presiding Officer
John Johnson - Trustee
Irene Avitia - Trustee
Bill Ruhl - Trustee
Karen Special - Trustee
Andy Ybarra - Trustee
Joe Thomas - Interim Utilities Commissioner
Tom McCabe - Village Engineer

Economic Development Commission

The Economic Development Commission is charged with reviewing all economic development related programs and incentives including tax incentives offered through the Cook County 6b program. The Commission has a vested interest in the economic viability and strength of Franklin Park and strives to attract and retain businesses through various programs, events and meetings.

The Economic Development Commission meets on the fourth (4th) Thursday of every month at 8:00am. The Commission consists of seven (7) appointed members with staggered three-year (3-yr) terms.

Kirk Allen
Frank P. Cangelosi
William Geary
Mike Giannelli
Tom Herbstritt
Giuliano Petrucci
Sixto Rincon

Fire and Police Commission

There is hereby created a Board of Fire and Police Commissioners consisting of three (3) members as provided for in division 2.1 of article 10 of chapter 65, the Illinois Municipal Code, of the Illinois Compiled Statutes. (1969 Code, § 1-18-1)

The Fire and Police Commission meets on the first (1st) Monday of every month at 6:00pm. The Commission consists of three (3) appointed members with staggered three-year (3-yr) terms.

Maritza Souchet - Chairperson
Guillermo Rios
Irene Herrera
Margarita Whaley - Secretary

Plan Commission

The Plan Commission prepares and recommends to the Village President and Board of Trustees a comprehensive plan of public improvements looking to the present and future developments of the Village.

Patricia Letarte -Chairperson
Alma Montenegro
Teresa Badillo
Kay Frey
Linda Suwalksi
Lisa Manzo - Secretary

Senior Citizen Commission

The Senior Citizen Commission shall consist of seven (7) members who shall be appointed by the President, by and with the consent of the Board of Trustees. The President, or a member of the Board of Trustees appointed by the President, shall be an ex officio member of the Commission. (Ord. 7273 MC 5, § 1)

The Senior Citizen Commission meets on the first (1st) Thursday of every month at 1:00pm. The Commission consists of seven (7) appointed members. Terms last from May 1st through April 30th and are appointed annually.

Lisa Anthony - Chairperson
Bernice Brown
Kitty Greenwood
Michael Valone

Tree Preservation Commission

The Tree Preservation Commission shall act in an advisory role and serve without compensation and shall aid the Village’s arborist with the promotion and preservation of trees in the Village.

The Tree Preservation Commission meets the third Tuesday of every month at 6:00pm.

The Tree Preservation Commission shall be comprised of five (5) members appointed by the President advice and consent of the Board of Trustees for a term of one year or until their successors have been appointed and qualified.  (Ord. 2223-VC-23)


Ramona Michael, Chairperson
Joan Ambo, Co-Chairperson
Jen Costa, Secretary
Les Grahn
Sylvia Noth
Andrew Smolen, Sustainability, Forestry, Parkways and Facilities Director

Zoning Board of Appeals

The Zoning Board of Appeals acts as a Recommending Board to the Board of Trustees and holds hearings for conditional uses, variances to property lot requirements, and hears text amendments for changes to the zoning code. The Zoning Board supplies a written report, meeting the standards required by the zoning ordinance, to the Village Board for creation of new Village ordinances pertinent to the situation.

  • Applications for Zoning Relief can include:
    • Conditional Use
    • Amendment
    • Subdivision and Resubdivision
    • Variance
  • Fee Schedule for Zoning Relief Hearings:
    • 11-1-5: Zoning, Planning & Development Fees
    • 11-1-6: Charge for Insufficient Fund Checks

The Zoning Board of Appealse meets on the first (1st) Wednesday of every month at 7:00pm. The Board consists of seven (7) appointed members with staggered five-year (5-yr) terms

Mark Cwik - Chairperson
Bruce Boreson
Jenny Corral
Frank Grieashamer
Kathy Mennella
Rhonda Santana
Wayne Bernacki

Lisa Manzo - Secretary



©2024 - Village of Franklin Park  9500 Belmont Avenue, Franklin Park, IL 60131   tel: (847) 671-4800    Terms & ConditionsIPrivacy PolicyISitemap